Starting a small business or just trying to make (extra) money? Minimal mommy says: Let’s make a plan.

30 Jan

So I officially hit my 100th sale in Dec 2012.  That was my first year in ” almost official business.”  This is both thrilling and frightening for me.

Below I  will give you links to my outlets of sale, the process I have seen work the best at least for me, and the applications I use for analytics and the like.  You will see a ton of familiar companies, and some I use for not so familiar options.  So lets begin the how to’s of URP and Dragonliliyarts.

Daily Thought Image 10-03-12

Creativity DOES take courage!  Putting yourself out there, marketing, and the like takes courage.  People will love you but realize they will also hate you.  That is ok. To each their own.

https://www.etsy.com

Etsy.com is a great place to sell and showcase art and vintage things.  It is easy to use and allows for a multitude of options from upcycled items, to art as both we know it and OMG! why did i not thing of that!  I have a site on there under “dragonlilyarts.”  I have sold both art and storage products, and one vintage item. I have also made a purchase through there.  There is a lot to choose from and many options.  Being distinctive is the key to being found in a search!

https://www.pinterest.com

Pin board fun!!!!  I market flood my listings from etsy, ebay, and my blogs to pinterest.  I pin other people’s boards to mine and they me.  I get a ton of fantastic and stellar ideas to live a more earth friendly and minimalist-almost 0 waste lifestyle.  And i see what has worked for me and what i absolutely love.  I clean out boards of the “slackers” and the no longer applies” about once every quarter in order to maintain a fresh and organized digi-image.

Daily Thought Image 11-26-12

Do not put off what you can do today, for tomorrow, unless it is 11:59pm and you are still working on your entrepreneurial adventures, and you have to use the restroom.

https://www.amazon.com

https://www.ebay.com

https://www.craigslist.com

SELL SELL SELL!!! as the end of the year approaches clean out your house.  Split the times in to four categories: keep, garbage, donate, and sell.  Each of the listings above give you prime availability with the right wording and the key words to market your products and show up in  main page listings.  Amazon and ebay pay good money to move up in key “eye catching” listing spots on search engine front pages: use it to your advantage.  Also the is the time of year to really begin to plan for the next, start clean, and in a lifestyle change focus.  you are the most ambitious at this time of the year to advocate a change-as this is the time to set new years resolutions.  Also the more you donate the more you can get rebates in your taxes, or pay less to uncle sammo….. everything you own that is worth the time to sell can be listed on at least one if not all three of the above places.  Make it a mission.  Dont be afraid to tell the buyer in the listing why you are selling it.  Many of my listings include that the proceeds from each sale go to fund my children’s extra curricular activities as well as both URP and Minimal Mommy.  some of my earlier ones just plain said “moving must sell!”

Ask yourself:

do you need it?

do you want it/sentimental?

what good will it do for you?

Then determine your next step: keep, sell, donate, throw-out.

Daily Thought Image 11-21-12

My new years resolutions each year have been simple and doable.  That is important to allow change to occur overtime and stay, not fall, off the wagon.  I have been living and formulating URP and the inclusive minimal mommy (mm) voice before put names to them.  It has been about 12 years, each year adding a new pc to the puzzle, streamlining, trying new things and removing others.

Daily Thought Image 11-29-12

Payment and Analytics:

www.paypal.com

www.outright.com

Both are a division of ebay but they allows you to incorporate your other host sites to their free-flood of information.  Because of this I have a one stop shop to invoice people whom are interested in items on non paypal sites, I can study my sales and expenditures, and i can see what months which sites and demands seem to peak for me.  I can make, create, or edit preformed labels for my income, rainy day savings, or expenses, and it gives ma rough idea of what I will owe in taxes, if at all.

Daily Thought Image 10-15-12

I tell everyone my largest asset is the ability to take something and multitask it in to an effective and efficient usage of time, but that I also thoroughly enjoy calm time to be real and enjoy life.  We only have one life. Enjoying it and doing what we love, while being self-reliant and responsible is one of the best gifts we can give ourselves and the world around us. Part of starting your own business is drive and love.  You need to be motivated.  You almost work off of the high of excitement that something you love doing you can also make money doing.  because let’s face it, you need money to live.  But in order to start your own “thing” you need passion.  You need to believe in what you do whole heartedly.  You need to be comfortable about putting your whole self out there-like a naked person in a public festival.

Think. Create. Give. Repeat.

Leave a comment